Newsletter subscribe


Historic Win As Senegal beat Egypt to win Africa Cup of Nations trophy

Posted: February 6, 2022 at 11:00 pm   /   by   /   comments (0)

After two hours of efforts and goal-scoring opportunities, Senegal won the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations for the first time on penalty kicks at Olembe Stadium in Yaoundé, Cameroon.

Neither Senegal nor Egypt who had previously won the Africa Cup of Nations seven times, the most in the tournament’s history — were able to breakthrough in the first 90 minutes, with Senegal looking in control for most of the game before Egypt gained strength late in the second half.
The game’s best opportunity at a goal in regulation time came in the early minutes of the match for Senegal. After an Egyptian foul in the penalty box, Liverpool star Sadio Mane penalty kick was saved in spectacular fashion by goalkeeper Mohamed Abou Gabal, also known as Gabaski, in the seventh minute.
But after 30 scoreless minutes of extra time, which featured a pair of stellar saves from Gabaski and Senegalese keeper Edouard Mendy, the game went to penalty kicks.
Another clutch save from Mendy set Mané up with a chance to redeem himself. Mané buried a rocket in the back of the net to give Senegal the championship.
For now, Sadio Mané and his team can celebrate with the 16 million Senegalese their very first African Cup of Nations title. The Lions will again cross road of Egyptians on March 24 as they play World cup 2022 playoff.


AFCON 2022 Winners List And Awards: Player Of The Tournament, Golden Glove, Golden Boot

Sadio Mane, a Senegalese legend, has been crowned Player of the Tournament. Because of his pivotal part in the Lions of Teranga’s victory, the Liverpool star was awarded the best player in the competition with three goals and two assists.

Edouard Mendy was named the Goalkeeper of the Tournament as he beat Egypt’s Mohamed Abou Gabal.

Vincent Aboubakar was the Golden Boot winner with eight goals for the hosts.


Prize Money Pool Distribution AFCON 2022

The champions will get $5 million (£3.7 million), up from $4.5 million (£3.3 million), with the runners-up receiving $2.75 million (£2 million).

Each of the losing semi-finalists will receive $2.2 million (£1.6 million), while those who were eliminated in the quarter-finals will receive $1.8 million (£1.3 million).

Comments (0)

write a comment

Name E-mail Website